Why are you so concerned about religion? As an atheist, you don’t believe in God. So why bother concerning yourself with religion?


Enquiries on Atheism

 To be brutally honest, I try not to be. But it is becoming more difficult to turn a blind eye even though I live in a country where the impact of religion is minimal.

South Africa has one of the best constitutions in the world, so I have heard said, and Church and State are very much separated. Even though President Jacob Zuma once declared the ANC would still be in office when Jesus returned, I don’t believe he is that religious to take himself seriously; not considering how many wives he has.

Although he is considered by many to be corrupt, so perhaps that might be a point in his favour if ever he decided to declare he was religious?

Growing up in the UK I noted the  “Troubles” of Northern Ireland, and merely thought these people, Catholic and Protestant were nuts. I occasionally paid attention to the perennial…

View original post 234 more words



Categories: Philosophy

7 replies

  1. I meant to apologise as I realised after posting that you asked for us to alert the rest of the “Team” as to our topic choice beforehand.
    Hope you didn’t think I was being presumptuous and uppity by jumping the gun?
    BTW, are we ‘allowed’ to pick another topic from your list and do another post, or are you going to put up new topics next week?
    Oh, and I miss my Gravatar image!
    Can we have him back ,please?
    Regards, Old Stoneface.

    • You’re lucky you sent this, Ark! I was in the middle of sending you a severance package. 😉

      The “rules” are merely suggestions. Moreover, I don’t want to be “in charge” of this website; I want it to operate naturally. I think it will work best, however, if we remain in regular contact so that we can coordinate the topics. You’re free to post whenever you like, and you’re free to do so completely separate from the “team.” It really makes no difference so long as you’re assisting in the purpose of the blog.

      I’ll look into the gravatar images. Not really sure who set up the comment settings… 🙂

      • Okay, I shall endeavor to alert the “team” what my next topic will be.
        I had thought about doing a post on East-Texan Atheist lesbian Chiwawas, but I’m not sure anyone would be interested other than Jimmy Swaggart or West Texan Atheist lesbian Chiwawas.

        With the Gravatars it makes it easier to find JZ and Mak when I want to slag off one of their comments.

    • I just checked the discussion settings. The avatar setting is enabled, but it’s not working. Let’s just wait until Fourat updates the theme and see what happens.

  2. RL…is there a way to get you in my reader without signing up for the e-mail alerts?

Please share your thoughts here. With the exception of blatant spam, no one will be censored. I invite criticisms and disagreement, but hope we can maintain a cordial and respectful dialogue. Thanks!

