My Spiritual Health


I’m getting tired of apologizing for my absence, but here I go again: please, please, please forgive me.  There are a few comments which I have yet to address, and I have neglected to visit many of your sites.  Until recently, I was able to juggle school, my job and WordPress by answering comments and reading posts between tasks at work, but my work has blocked “Blogging Websites.”  This will likely continue for another six weeks, but then things will return to normal.

With that out of the way I’d like to direct your attention to the title of this post.  My spiritual health is in jeopardy (apparently), and the cause for such an unfortunate condition is exclusively due to my emotions.  Yes, it has been pointed out to me that my conclusions are not based on logic, but rather, childish emotions.  I can only imagine what is causing me to reject Him, my creator – or, more accurately, Them, my creators – but that is what Rapture Ready told me after completing their two question quiz.  All of this time I’ve been arguing with Him, not against the philosophical and historical concept of Him.  How stupid of me…  Thanks for taking the time to put forth a compelling argument, Rapture Ready.

I have no evidence that God does exist.

In most cases, the rejection of the Creator does not result from logical conclusions. The average atheist, if he or she is honest, will cite an emotional motivation for lack of faith in God.

The late Isaac Asimov once wrote: “Emotionally I am an atheist. I don’t have the evidence to prove that God doesn’t exist, but I so strongly suspect that he doesn’t that I don’t want to waste my time.” Now that Mr. Asimov is dead, I suspect he wishes he would have invested time into proving the existence of God.

Most people who do not think God exists betray their stance by arguing with Him. If God is not real, there is no need to be hostile toward Him or toward anyone who believes in Him.



Categories: Religion

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 replies

  1. Your apology seems reasonable and is accepted and as to your spiritual health, whoever runs that site need to spend reading more about atheism and atheists.

  2. Speculation, moving specks, what is in my eye, I see. It may be clarity, or clouded vision. A message or misinterpretation.

  3. Yes, it’s a common complaint. When confronted with such mind-bending clarity respond as such: I’m about as mad at your god as you are mad at Big Foot.

  4. Well, as long as there is no evidence for God’s existence, I’m with Asimov. Life is too short!

  5. Smile…Yes, sanity is an hallucination shared by many! God help us. But which one?

  6. You shouldn’t have to apologize for being too busy to post – it’s your blog and I enjoy reading your posts no matter when you have the time to post. I would imagine most people feel the same and if they don’t then too bad for them. 😉

    Those kind of Rapture Ready comments make us all wonder at times whether people who would write them could ever think outside of the box that they live in. Perhaps some could if approached in a way that somehow hits them the right way, but finding that dang approach is so frustratingly difficult because we are all so very different in the type of things which cause us to see more clearly.

  7. It is always nice to learn some new facts about yourself that you did not know before 🙂 Rejoice!

Please share your thoughts here. With the exception of blatant spam, no one will be censored. I invite criticisms and disagreement, but hope we can maintain a cordial and respectful dialogue. Thanks!

